Wednesday, March 25, 2009

I Want to Be Bill Gates

I had a really nice spring break.
I didn't sleep much at all during it and I did get sick as a result, but it was great.

I hung out with a bunch of friends and had a good time, and then on Thursday night I had a state officer meeting to do the last-minute planning for state JCL convention. After that was over, Jason came to the FCC and we hung out for a few hours there, just chatting. It was nice.

On Friday and Saturday, I was busy ALL day with state convention.
It was wonderful.
I think it was a success.
We did well with planning it, if I do say so myself.
I loved being an officer.
It was so much fun running around and coordinating everything.
I loved being the tech. coordinator in the back, running back and forth and doing things with computers and projectors and videos.
It was great.
I love my office.

I got really sad on Saturday, though.
My certamen team placed SECOND, which was great, but I got really depressed when Volk started to talk about how he appreciated all of the seniors who'd put so much time into JCL over the years and whatnot.
I almost lost it.
I almost started crying right then and there, but I was able to hold back...mostly because I was on stage and I didn't feel like crying in front of 100 people. =P
It was so sad, though...
JCL is basically my life. It really is.
I don't know what I'm going to do without it.
Of course I'll join the SCL and I'll go to Nationals and maybe come back for state next year if they want my help, but that's really all I'll be able to do, and it's so sad...
SCL just doesn't quite cut it for me. =(

Overall I had a fantastic break.
It was just...wonderful.
The only problem was that it went by FAR too quickly!...and I got sick, I guess.

Lately I've been kind of obsessed with Bill Gates and Microsoft.
On Sunday I tore apart a bunch of computers and played around with all of our old ones (some were from the early '90s!! we have a monitor from 1992!).
I used so many different operating systems on Sunday...
Windows 3.11, Windows 95, Windows 98, Windows ME, Windows XP, Windows Vista, and Ubuntu Linux...
It was fun!
I love it. =]
I can't wait to learn more.
Computers are so fascinating.
I love technology.
Overall I think of myself as kind of old-fashioned and conservative, but I am NOT old-fashioned at ALL when it comes to technology.
I am like an old man....except I can't live without technology.
I'm so excited to major in computer science!
It's going to be great.
I'm so happy that I finally have my major figured out.
It'd been stressing me out for a while when I was so unsure.
I don't know when it hit me that computer science is it, but it was great.
It made so much sense.
I've been using computers literally my whole life.
I've had my own computer since I turned eight years old.
I have two computers of my own right now, and that doesn't include my parents' at all.
I've always been good with computers, and now I'm getting even better with the hardware aspect of them. I've always been decent with software, but now I'm getting into the complex stuff.
I've been reading books on programming languages and whatnot a lot lately.
I've done a lot with computers in recent times.
I installed Ubuntu Linux alongside Windows XP on my desktop computer.
It was fun doing a dual boot like that!
I have two operating systems on there now, and I think I'll install even more.
Ahhh... =]

I feel okay right now.
I kind of had a ridiculous, major breakdown like...an HOUR before I left for state convention on Friday. It was terrible...really terrible.
My mom wants me to see a therapist of some sort.
She's really adament about that.
She knows that I'm depressed and that I'm tired of everything and that I've been doing some self-destructive things (again).
It just really hit her on Friday, I guess.
She almost started crying right along with me.
It was really... emotional and weird. It made me feel really uncomfortable.
I don't know about seeing a therapist...
It'd be okay, but I'm scared to open up.
I don't want to look like a freak.
There's a lot more to me than I talk about on here (or anywhere, for that matter).

Anyway, I should get to bed.
I just felt like updating on a few things even though no one reads this, but that's okay. I'm doing it for my own sake. =]

I'm planning on sandbagging tomorrow!
Woot!

No comments: