For the past few days, my computer has been acting up. I first spotted a problem on either Tuesday or Wednesday night. My computer was freezing at the most ridiculous times and it was just being horribly slow.
Last night after I got home from school, I brought my processor out to the living room. I opened it up and got a can of air to clean it out. After a thorough job of that, I put a new stick of RAM (memory) in, thinking that just might do the trick.
I plugged my computer back in. It worked well for about 30 minutes. After that, it started having the same old problems. I started to realize that it wasn't a matter of simply needing more memory (though it really did need more memory anyway).
After that, I put all of my photos and documents on a 4 GB flash drive for safe keeping. I held the flash drive and I was just like, "....yo, this is my life right here," and it's kind of true, as ridiculous as that sounds.
Anyway, today after school I wiped my hard drive clean. It didn't take long. After I wiped it clean, I had to go through a set-up process. Once I got to the end of the set-up and clicked on the 'finish' button, my computer basically just stopped. It wouldn't go any further. After awhile I restarted it, but the same thing happened.
I decided to go through the recovery process of wiping it clean once again, but I ran into the same problem at the finish button.
Basically, I think the problem is beyond me. I'm pretty sure that my computer has a virus, and I'm almost positive that the virus is more clever than I am, so I'm going to have to take it in to get it fixed on Monday. I hope they can fix it. My hard drive might be pretty ruined, which isn't a big deal since I can just get another one, but I never actually burned the operating system onto CDs when I first got my computer, so...if I -- or the guys who'll fix it on Monday -- can't get the operating system files copied, I'm basically screwed. I'll probably have to get a new computer.
We'll see, though.
For the time being, I'm using an old computer of ours. I hooked it up in my room about an hour ago. It has frickin' Windows ME (Millennium Edition), so it's pretty old, but I shouldn't complain too much... It's better than nothing, and I really have to get some stuff done using a computer this weekend, so... oh well. Like I said, it's better than nothing. I just really miss Windows XP, haha.
I guess that's all for my entry of computer woes... :P
2 comments:
wow what a nerd ;D
it's like we're beign haunted by our bad first jobs haha
have you ever noticed the hilarious "words" they have for the "captcha" thing on here? this one's "ingure" lol
Post a Comment